c

Inventory of the Fragenstein Castle

Entdecken Sie

die verborgenen Geschichten der Burgen Tirols

Things

are trending

 

Welcome to the project page of Inventaria - The Making of Inventories as Social Practice! InventariaThe Making of Inventories as Social Practice!

Our interdisciplinary and inter-university research project is dedicated to the fascinating question of what life was like in medieval castles in historic Tyrol. We use historical inventories as primary sources and peek through the keyhole into the interiors of selected castles in historic Tyrol.

Inventories are lists that provide information about the furnishings of castles and palaces. These lists were often created during changes of ownership or management and offer an authentic insight into the living conditions of the time.

The project explores how these items were recorded, described, and cataloged, which rooms were inspected, and which were possibly omitted. We are particularly interested in the people involved in these processes.

For Inventaria Inventaria, these inventory lists are historical texts that not only name items and rooms but also tell entire stories.

They give us valuable insights into the everyday and social history, as well as the associated actions, feelings, memories, knowledge, and sensory experiences of the people of that time.

For the castles in the region of historic Tyrol, inventories from the 14th to 16th centuries are remarkably well preserved: Thanks to the use of Transkribus, an advanced AI-based platform for text recognition of historical manuscripts, we process over 130 inventories from this period. By semantically modeling this data using graphs, we open up new analytical possibilities that unlock both the content and the material form of these documents.

Inventaria Inventaria not only contributes to a deeper understanding of the practice of inventorying and the social significance of spaces, objects, and the people associated with them, but also develops innovative methods in the fields of digital humanities and the history of objects and practices that can be applied beyond the borders of Tyrol.

Discover the hidden stories of the medieval castles of Tyrol!

Our goals
 

revised edition

Building on the renowned work of Oswald von Zingerle (ed., Mittelalterliche Inventare aus Tirol und Vorarlberg, Innsbruck 1909), we are working on a newly revised edition of the Tyrolean castle inventories. Using modern methods, we are processing the inventories of castles such as Thaur, Rattenberg, Schloss Tirol, Castel Pergine, Heinfels, Tratzberg, Runkelstein, and many more. Thaur, Rattenberg, Castle Tirol, Castel Pergine, Heinfels, Tratzberg, Runkelstein etc.

semantic analysis

We analyze the content of the inventories both historically and semantically by using state-of-the-art digital technologies such as  Transkribus, CIDOC CRM, SKOS. This allows us to gain new insights into the development of the practice of inventorying. Through these sources, we can learn more about the social life in the castles and the history of Tyrol.

Insights beyond Tyrol

In addition to insights into Tyrolean history, our work also provides general findings: We develop methods and techniques for analyzing historical inventories. By employing digital methods, it becomes possible to examine material culture and the differentiation of spaces in castles, especially from gender-specific perspectives. We anticipate new insights into the development of material culture from the Middle Ages to the Early Modern period, also in the context of a possible consumer revolution during this time.

Inventaria

Deciphering the Semantic Worlds of Castle Inventories in the Historical Tyrol

The Making of Inventories as Social Practice

c

Inventar der Burg Thaur, 1487, Tiroler Landesarchiv, Inventare A 49.6

Inventar der Burg Rattenberg, 1534, Tiroler Landesarchiv, Inventare A 83.3

Dinge

haben Konjunktur

 

Willkommen auf der Projektseite von Inventaria!

Unser interdisziplinäres und universitätsübergreifendes Forschungsvorhaben widmet sich der faszinierenden Frage, wie das Leben auf mittelalterlichen Burgen in historischen Tirol aussah. Dazu nutzen wir historische Inventare als Schlüsselquellen und blicken durch das Schlüsselloch ins Innere ausgewählter Burgen im historischen Tirol.

Inventare sind Listen, die Aufschluss über die Auf den Burgen vorhandenen Möbel und Gerätschaften geben. Diese Listen wurden oft bei Besitzwechseln oder Änderungen in der Verwaltung angelegt und bieten einen authentischen Einblick in die damalige Lebenswelt.

Unser Projekt erforscht, wie diese Gegenstände erfasst, beschrieben und katalogisiert wurden, welche Räume inspiziert wurden und welche vielleicht außen vor blieben. Dabei interessiert uns insbesondere, wer die Menschen waren, die an diesen Prozessen beteiligt waren.

Inventaria betrachtet diese Inventarlisten als historische Texte, die nicht nur Objekte und Räume nennen, sondern ganze Geschichten erzählen.

Sie gewähren uns wertvolle Einblicke in die Alltags- und Sozialgeschichte sowie die damit verbundenen Handlungen, Gefühle, Erinnerungen, Wissensbestände und Sinneserfahrungen der Menschen jener Zeit.

Solche Inventare haben sich für die Burgen aus dem Raum des historischen Tirol bereits für die Zeit des 14. bis 16. Jahrhunderts in bemerkenswerter Menge erhalten: Dank der Verwendung von Transkribus, einer fortschrittlichen KI-basierten Plattform zur Texterkennung historischer Handschriften, bearbeiten wir über 130 Inventare aus dieser Zeit. Durch die semantische Modellierung dieser Daten mithilfe von Graphen eröffnen wir neue Wege der Analyse, die sowohl die Inhalte als auch die materielle Form dieser Dokumente erschließen.

Inventaria trägt nicht nur zu einem tieferen Verständnis der Inventarisierungspraxis und der sozialen Bedeutung von Räumen und Objekten und den damit verbundenen Menschen bei, sondern entwickelt auch innovative Methoden in den Bereichen der Digital Humanities sowie der Objekt- und Praxisgeschichte, die über die Grenzen Tirols hinaus Anwendung finden können.

Entdecken Sie mit uns die verborgenen Geschichten der mittelalterlichen Burgen Tirols.

Unser Projektziele

 

Aktualisierte Edition

Aufbauend auf dem bekannten Werk von Oswald von Zingerle (Hg., Mittelalterliche Inventare aus Tirol und Vorarlberg, Innsbruck 1909) arbeiten wir an einer neu bearbeiteten Edition der Tiroler Burginventare. Mit modernen Methoden bearbeiten wir dafür die Inventare von Burgen wie die Burgruine Thaur, Rattenberg, Schloss Tirol, Castel Pergine, Heinfels, Tratzberg, Runkelstein u.v.m. 

Historisch semantische Erschließung

Wir erschließen die Inhalte der Inventare historisch und semantisch und verwenden dafür state-of-the-Art digitale Technologien, wie Transkribus, CIDOC CRM, SKOS. Dadurch gewinnen wir neue Informationen darüber, wie sich die Praxis des Inventarisierens entwickelt hat. So können wir mit diesen Quellen mehr über das soziale Leben in Burgen und die Geschichte Tirols erfahren.

Erkenntnisse über Tirol hinaus

Neben Einblicken in die Tiroler Geschichte ergeben sich aus unserer Arbeit auch allgemeine Erkenntnisse: Wir entwickeln Methoden und Aufbereitungstechniken zur Erschließung historischer Inventare. Durch den Einsatz digitaler Methoden werden Untersuchungen zur materiellen Kultur und zur Unterscheidung von Räumen in Burgen, insbesondere unter Berücksichtigung geschlechtsspezifischer Aspekte möglich. Wir erwarten neue Erkenntnisse über die Entwicklung der materiellen Kultur vom Mittelalter zur Frühen Neuzeit, auch im Kontext einer möglichen Konsumrevolution in dieser Zeit.